becoming israel


life gets in the way.
June 15, 2009, 3:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m still here. I’ve been majorly distracted from this blog because of other issues I’ve been working through. But I’m here. And I’m working on getting back to the purpose of this blog. Back on track. Talk soon…

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m glad to see the post, been wondering about you. 🙂 Still praying with you! Thanks for letting us know!

Comment by CindyK

Sweet! Looking forward to hearing more. I hope you get some time to check out the John Eldridge books.

Comment by Jim Hoo

Just stopped in to say hello. Wanted you to know that I’m still praying with you, and hoping that your rocky road is more ice cream than gravel.

You are in our thoughts and prayers.

Comment by CindyK

Please check this out:

I’m a believer too and I have many gay friends. I believe that that you’re trying to change something that you truly wont be able to. You may learn to supress these feelings, but studies show you will never “overcome” being gay. I really, really hope you watch this documentary and I hope that it helps you accept who you are without any guilt.

I’ll be praying for you.

Comment by Kristy

http://www.thetaskforce.org/press/releases/pr_080609

Comment by Praying that you accept yourself

I just wanted to stop by and say thanks for blogging. It doesn’t appear that you are still blogging but I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate what you have written already. I am struggling with what it means to be a Christian and homosexual. It’s nice to find someone else who is struggling with this too.

Comment by heterodoxalxn

please come back and talk to us…

Comment by FierceHope

I almost didn’t approve this comment…but I want to explain why I did. I am not writing (or not writing these days…sorry!) this blog because I’m “repairing” myself or that I think the way I feel is a mental disorder or developmental problem. These are not even the reasons I’m trying to change the way I’m living my life. The only thing I’m trying to repair here is my relationship with my God – who I do believe loves me for who I am and also wants the best for me. I’m not writing this blog to tell anyone that they are in the wrong for being gay or trying to change them if they are. I’m writing it to document what I’m going through in the struggle for what I believe God wants for my life…in hopes that someone feeling the same way may feel a little less alone. The reason I almost didn’t approve this (and other comments) is because I didn’t want this to be an avenue for people to find this information through my blog…but then I decided that would be hypocritical and I think there’s value in having information from both sides.

Comment by becomingisrael

Hi there,

I stumbled onto your blog and I see that you are a Christian who is struggling with temptation. I see that you have the desire to please God and to do what is right in His eyes. That is commendable. First of all, I applaud the fact that you have taken God at His word. You know it is truth. Maybe you don’t understand why He said what He did, but because He did, you are going to submit to it.

You have a temptation – other humans have other temptations. Heterosexuals are tempted too, by the opposite sex. So while you are thinking, “How can I avoid even thinking bad thoughts?” – the same applies to straight people. It’s not like a married man can just undress a woman in his mind and it not be a sin in God’s eyes. But he is straight. He should be saying, “God it’s impossible. You made me straight. I’m only a man, so I have to think impure thoughts”. Not so. He must also follow the same Word that you and I must follow.

As for the identity crisis—that is yet another thing that every Christian goes through. I’ve heard people say “they were born homosexuals”. Okay. I and you and the whole world were born sinners. No problem. As Christians, we don’t say, “I was born a sinner so God should just accept me as I am”. Even so, God did accept us but loved us enough not to leave us the way we were. We remedy the problem of sin by the blood of Jesus, which can wash sin away. Is it not potent to wash away your old nature of homosexuality or my old nature of jealousy, or anger, or whatever sin we struggle with? What is your nature can be changed by God’s nature. What is natural to us maybe unnatural to God. “the carnal mind is enmity against God; for it is not subject to the law of God, nor indeed can be.” (Romans 8:7) I think this is where our logic brings us to a dead end. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t use our brains, but when we try to rationalize our thoughts or actions, it never squares with God’s Word. We all do this.

So once again – Jesus does love you and YES He already accepted you just the way you were, “while you were dead in your sins”. Is that any different than what straight people were. I mean we were all dead in our sins when Christ found us and washed us in His blood. Straight or gay – we all need His precious blood to wash us. Jesus understands your problem. That’s why He became a man so that He could empathize with us. For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. (Heb 4:15)

God told us in Romans 12:1-2 that we are not to be conformed to this world but rather be transformed by the renewing of our mind. We can renew our mind by the word of God. Whatever you were, whatever I was, before Jesus washed us in His blood, is gone forever. ” Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.” (2 Cor 5:17). You are not who you were before you accepted Jesus and were born again. Listen, we all are commanded to be pure before God. So if I want to commit adultery or fornication, or even think those thoughts – I’m commanded not to. Same for you – you are also not to think immoral thoughts or act upon them. Your body is a holy habitation for the Spirit of God. We cannot change God; He is holy and we must be too. He commanded us to be holy as He is holy. He wouldn’t tell us to do something that was impossible. That’s where His Word and His Holy Spirit come in, to help us be all that He created us to be. 2 Peter 1:4 is also good to read.

I quoted many scriptures, to strengthen your faith, not to preach at you (as I’m sure you know the Word). This is the first time I have ever written a long comment to a stranger. Know that I do care, that’s the only reason I am up till 2am, writing this for you, hoping that you will find hope and victory. For the gospel is the power of God unto salvation to him who believes. (Romans 1:16) You ARE precious to God and He can (has and will) use you for His glory. Sin is not a problem for Him (remember the shed Blood. It works). You already know what to do and are doing it. Focus on your relationship with God. Fall in love with Jesus (I know you already have). God is love and will teach you to love through His heart beating in you.
God bless you.

Don’t ever give up.

Comment by AngieP

I wander back here sometimes, and after reading some of the comments I just want to say:

You are a courageous warrior. 🙂 Wow. You sure are. I pray that you are waking up to a renewed joy of the Lord every morning!!! God bless you!!!

Comment by CindyK

Thinking of you and hoping all is well. Praying for strength and peace and freedom for you.

Comment by Tammy




Leave a Reply

