becoming israel


our america with lisa ling
March 8, 2011, 4:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Lisa Ling has a new show on Oprah’s new network (OWN) called Our America and tonight’s episode addresses the Christianity vs. Homosexuality issue. Lisa was at the Exodus Freedom Conference this summer as part of her research. As far as I can tell from the website, a segment of tonight’s episode features the conference and an interview with Exodus president Alan Chambers. You can watch a quick sneak peek here. I won’t be able to watch until later this week but I’m interested to hear what those of you who are able to watch think. If anything, I hope you get a glimpse of what my experience at Exodus was like and hear from a more eloquent and experienced speaker than myself. šŸ™‚

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi! I left a comment on your post a few months back and was redirected to your site again and I am so glad! I watched “Our America” the other night and thought it was a great show because it showcased the three different sides of this whole debate; Side A (Christians who are “actively” gay/lesbian), Side B (Christians who are celibate gay/lesbian) and Side X (Christians who are gay/lesbian striving to be heterosexual.) Did you get to watch it yet? What I would like to know from you personally is what you thought about what Alan Chambers said at the end of the broadcast when Lisa Ling asked him if he believed that the “Side A” (read definition above) Christians would be in Heaven? I was actually pretty surprised that he believed that he would see those gay/lesbian Christians who have decided to be in loving same-sex relationships in Heaven. Being the current head of Exodus, it makes me wonder why he believes there is a need to be celibate if he thinks that gays and lesbians can be in relationships and be Christians? What do you think about what he said?

Secondly, I wanted to tell you about a good resource for you if you aren’t aware of it already. The gay Christian network is a body of gay and lesbian believers that you can connect with online and it has message boards and chat for both Side A and Side B Christians. You may benefit from talking to others. I myself am on Side A after a lot of soul searching. I recently found a a gay affirming church and I have never felt so fulfilled in Christ! Like your Exodus leader, I believe that all sides will go to Heaven, for first and foremost we are Christians. Sexual orientation is irrelevant in Heaven, as Jesus says there is no marriage between people in Heaven and we are like the angels (Matthew 22:30). As a body of believers, we are all the bride of Christ in the end! I will pray for you in your journey…

Comment by moanti (moeĀ·onĀ·tee)




Leave a Reply

